PERCUSSIVE

DANCE 

LAB

March 12, 13, 14, 20 and 21, 2021

ONLINE EDITION

SPECIALISTS.

MARTINE

BILLETTE

 

Coming from a family of musicians in Sainte-Barbe (Qc), Martine Billette put on her first step dancing shoes at the age of four. She learned her first steps with Serge Mathon, then deepened her knowledge with Martin Duhème at the end of the 80s, as well as with Gilles Roy in the 90s.

 

Recognized as one of the best step dancer in Quebec, Martine joined forces for almost 7 years with Pierre Chartrand and Marie-Soleil Pilette in the Rapetipetam trio, but also with Gilles Roy his The Stepping Ambassadors as a professional dancer.

 

With a bachelor's degree in music (2004), and a master's degree in arts education (2017), Martine has been teaching traditional step danding and piano for over thirty years.

DOMINIC

DESROCHERS

 

Dominic Desrochers’s love for sound and movement is awakened during family gatherings where traditional singers, dancers and musicians help to forge his creative spirit.

 

Over time, a real passion for percussive dance, physical theater and clown art is added to the landscape of this poet and multi-instrumentalist, and integrates all his gestural vocabulary in the service of rhythm.

 

Co-founder, choreographer and dancer of ZEUGMA DANSE, Dominic frequently shares his knowledge by offering workshops and master classes. An ethnological and exploratory journey opens up his creative approach which now aims to be 100% organic, making music and percussive dance an extension of oneself.

 

www.zeugmadanse.com

NIC

GAREISS

 

Named by Dance Magazine as one of 2019's "25 to Watch," dancer and dance researcher Nic Gareiss has been hailed by the New York Times for his "dexterous melding of Irish and Appalachian dance".

 

He reimagines movement as a musical practice, recasting dance as a medium that appeals to both eyes and ears. Originally from Michigan, Gareiss engages many percussive dance traditions, weaving together a dance technique facilitating his love of improvisation, clog and step dance footwork vocabulary, and musical collaboration.

In 2018-2019, Nic was artist-in-residence at the University of Edinburgh’s School of Scottish Studies and in 2020, he received the Michigan Heritage Award, his state's highest honor for traditional artists.

www.nicgareiss.com

EDWINA

GUCKIAN

 

Dancer Edwina Guckian hails from outside the village of Drumsna in Co. Leitrim, Ireland She learned her dancing from her mother and the local dancers of Leitrim and Roscommon counties.

 

Having started teaching dancing at age 16, Edwina establisher, in 2004, her dance club Áirc Damhsa which now has over 400 members and 11 teachers based in 9 counties.  Since 2016, with the support of The Arts Council of Ireland, Dance Ireland and Leitrim Arts Office she hosts a hugely successful festival called Leitrim Dance Week. 

Recipient of several awards, she founded in 2020 her independent film production company making creative videos and documentaries focusing on music, dance, heritage, culture, nature and community. 

www.edwinaguckian.com

MARLENE

MILLAR

 

Filmmaker Marlene Millar has create dance, documentary and experimen-tal media productions since 1989, recently celebrated in her solo exhibition of 30 works at Threshold Artspace, UK.

 

Since 2000 Marlene has co-created an acclaimed body of dance media work with Philip Szporer through their production company, Mouvement Perpétuel. The Migration Dance Film Project series (Lay Me Low, Pilgrimage, Move, Traverse, Navigation), directed by Marlene and choreographed by Sandy Silva, has been honoured with over 25 awards and prizes at festivals including Aesthetica Film Festival (UK), San Francisco Dance Film Festival (US), Cinematica (IT), Cinedans (NL) and Shortwaves (PL). 

www.mouvementperpetuel.net

LOUIS

MORNEAU

 

Louis Morneau first stood out as a musician and composer in a wide variety of musical styles. He has performed regularly in concert across Quebec, either solo and within several classical, world music and pop groups.

 

Louis has also been interested, for 20 years now, in directing and recording, with a constant concern for the delivery of a quality, rich and deep sound of the works entrusted to him and the shows to which he participated as sound designer and sound engineer.

 

Shortly after, he discovered an art that has fascinated him and has fascinated him ever since: mastering. He is fully realized in this profession which requires as much a rigorous technique as his artistic sense.

YIOTA

PEKLARI

 

Yiota Peklari is considered as one of the most active and innovative flamenco artists and teachers in Greece. Graduated from the Professional Dance School Rallou Manou in Athens, she participated, as a dancer and choreographer, to major festivals all around the world.

 

As an educator, based on her training in ballet, contemporary dance, body music and flamenco, and 25 years of teaching experience, she has developed her personal teaching methods which are designed to awaken the kinesthetic and musical perception, imagination, creativity and interaction of the students. 

 

In 2009 she co-founded PLAYGROUND for the arts, a cultural nonprofit organization created to promote and support percussive arts.

www.playgroundforthearts.com

FRÉDÉRIQUE

ROBITAILLE

 

A true lover of dance and movement, Frédérique Annie Robitaille attended several dance schools before pursuing dance studies, first at Collège Montmorency in Laval, then at the University of Quebec in Montreal where she obtained a bachelor's degree in performance. in contemporary dance.

Co-founder of ZEUGMA DANSE, she has combined the functions of co-artistic director, choreographer and performer since 2001 and has eloquently contributed to the development of the gestural identity of the company, which mixes the power of jig with the fluidity of movement. contemporary. She also participated in the deployment of all the artistic projects of the company, in addition to directing, from 2005, the apprenticeship training program.

www.zeugmadanse.com

CLEEK

SCHREY

 

Cleek Schrey is a fiddler, improviser, and composer from Virginia, now based in NYC. He collaborates with musicians from a wide spectrum of scenes and styles. Frequent collaborators include the electronic music pioneer David Behrman, viol da gamba player Liam Byrne, and traditional fiddle icons Caoimhín Ó Raghallaigh and Martin Hayes. 

 

The journal Sound Post has noted that Cleek “possesses a rare combination of traits: deep respect for traditional music and the people who make it, and an unbounded curiosity about new directions for sound”. Recent engagements include the Big Ears Festival (TN), the Kilkenny Arts Festival (IR), SuperSense Festival of the Ecstatic (Aus) and the Issue Project Room (NYC). He is currently pursuing doctoral studies in Music Composition at Princeton University.

www.newmusicusa.org

SANDY

SILVA

 

Sandy Silva is an award-winning choreographer, producer, and internationally acclaimed pioneer of percussive dance.

 

She draws from global percussive dance practices infusing theme with movement, voice, theater and impeccable musicality. The result is a unique and powerful  form of performance and storytelling.

 

After 30 years of performing and teaching around the world, Sandy started the Migration Dance Film Project (MDFP) with award winning director Marlene Millar. Their films have screened internationally and won numerous awards.

 

The migration Dance Film Project will incorporate 8 short films into a full length feature film to be released in 2021.

www.sandysilvadance.com

ANTOINE

TURMINE

 

With a background in traditional and folk dances, Antoine Turmine defines himself as a dance artist who invests in a creative process where rhythm, sound and the body in movement are at the forefront.

 

Following his bachelor's degree in contemporary dance from UQAM and a master's degree in dance, Antoine now aims to turn his practice into a true laboratory and thus seeks out devices and contexts that transform and push back his ways of dancing.

 

antoine.turmine.ca

© 2020-2021, ZEUGMA DANSE  |  www.zeugmadanse.com

LAB

DE DANSE

PERCUSSIVE

4 au 8 novembre 2020

ÉDITION EN LIGNE

SPÉCIALISTES.

MARTINE

BILLETTE

 

Issue d’une famille de musiciens de Sainte-Barbe (Qc), Martine Billette a chaussé ses premiers souliers de gigue à quatre ans.  Elle apprend ses premières pas de gigue avec Serge Mathon, puis elle approfondi ses connaissances avec Martin Duhème à la fin des années 80, ainsi qu’avec Gilles Roy au cours des années 90.

 

Gigueuse professionnelle reconnue comme l’une des meilleures au Québec, elle s'associe pendant près de 7 ans, à Pierre Chartrand et Marie-Soleil Pilette dans un trio Rapetipetam, mais également auprès de Gilles Roy et The Stepping Ambassadors.

Détentrice d'un baccalauréat en musique (2004), et d'une maîtrise en enseignement des arts en (2017), elle enseigne la gigue et le piano depuis plus de trente ans.

DOMINIC

DESROCHERS

 

L’amour de Dominic Desrochers pour les sonorités et le mouvement s’éveille lors de rencontres familiales où chanteurs, danseurs et musiciens issus de la tradition contribuent à forger son esprit créateur.

 

Avec le temps, s'ajoute au paysage du poète et multi-instrumentiste, une véritable passion pour la danse percussive, le théâtre physique et l’art clownesque et y intègre tout son vocabulaire gestuel au service du rythme.

 

Cofondateur, chorégraphe et danseur de ZEUGMA DANSE, Dominic partage fréquemment son savoir en offrant des ateliers et des classes de maître. Un parcours ethnologique et exploratoire ouvre sa démarche créative qui se veut désormais 100 % organique, faisant de la musique et de la danse percussive une extension de soi.

 

www.zeugmadanse.com

NIC

GAREISS

 

Reconnu comme l'un des 25 artistes à surveiller en 2019 par le Dance Magazine et salué par le New York Times pour sa fusion méticuleuse des danses irlandaises et Appalaches, Nic Gareiss est danseur et chercheur spécialisé en danse percussive.

 

Son travail s'oriente autour de la musicalité, faisant de la danse un médium attrayant pour les yeux et les oreilles. S'appuyant sur de nombreu-ses traditions de danse percussives, il métisse celles-ci afin de laisser libre court à son travail d’improvisation. 

En 2018-2019, il a été artiste en résidence à l'Université d'Édimbourg et en 2020, il reçoit le Michigan Heritage Award, la plus haute distinction de son État pour les artistes traditionnels.

www.nicgareiss.com

EDWINA

GUCKIAN

 

Originaire du village de Drumsna dans le comté de Leitrim en Irlande, la danseuse Edwina Guckian apprend d'abord le ​Sean Nós avec sa mère, de même qu'auprès des danseurs de son comté et du compté de Roscommon.

 

Elle débute l'enseignement de la danse en 1996 et lance, en 2004, le club de danse Áirc Damhsa qui compte aujourd'hui plus de 400 danseurs et 11 professeurs répartis dans 9 comtés.  Elle organise, depuis 2016, des camps de danse qui accueillent des danseurs d'Europe, d'Asie, des États-Unis et d'Amérique du Sud.

Récipiendaire de plusieurs prix et reconnaissances des Conseils des arts, elle fonde, en 2020, une maison de production dédiée à la réalisation de documentaires sur les arts et traditions populaires d'Irlande.

www.edwinaguckian.com

MARLENE

MILLAR

 

La cinéaste Marlene Millar réalise des documentaires,  des productions en danse et de médias expérimentaux depuis 1989 et récemment célébrées dans son exposition solo de 30 œuvres au Threshold Artspace, au Royaume-Uni.

 

Depuis 2000, elle a co-créé avec Philip Szporer un ensemble d'œuvres médiatiques de danse acclamées à travers leur société de production, Mouvement Perpétuel. La série Migration Dance Film Project (Lay Me Low, Pilgrimage, Move, Traverse, Navigation), réalisée par Marlene et chorégraphiée par Sandy Silva, a été récompensée par plus de 25 prix et récompenses dans des festivals tels que Aesthetica Film Festival (UK), San Francisco Dance Film Festival (US), Cinematica (IT), Cinedans (NL) et Shortwaves (POL).

www.mouvementperpetuel.net

LOUIS

MORNEAU

 

C'est d'abord comme musicien et compositeur que Louis Morneau s’est démarqué dans une grande variété de styles musicaux. Il a performé régulièrement en concert à travers le Québec, en solo et au sein de plusieurs formations classiques, de musiques du monde et de pop.

 

Louis s'intéresse également, depuis maintenant 20 ans, à la réalisation et à l'enregistrement, avec une préoccu-pation constante pour la livraison d’un son de qualité, riche et profond des œuvres qui lui sont confiées et des spectacles auxquels il a participé comme concepteur sonore et ingénieur de son.

 

Peu de temps après, il a découvert un art qui le fascine et le passionne depuis : le mastering. Il se réalise pleinement dans ce métier qui sollicite autant une technique rigoureuse que son sens artistique.

YIOTA

PEKLARI

 

Yiota Peklari est l'une des artistes de flamenco les plus actives et les plus novatrices de Grèce. Diplômée de l'école de danse professionnelle Rallou Manou à Athènes, elle a participé, en tant que danseuse et chorégraphe à de grands festivals dans le monde entier.

Riche de sa formation en ballet, en danse contemporaine et en flamenco, et forte de 25 années d'expérience en enseignement, elle a développé ses propres méthodes d’enseignement visant à éveiller la perception kines-thésique et musicale, l’imagination, la créativité et l’interaction des étudiants.

En 2009, elle co-fonde Playground for the arts, organisme culturel voué aux arts percussifs et servant de lieu de rencontre à la communauté internationale d'artistes en danse percussive.

www.playgroundforthearts.com

FRÉDÉRIQUE

ROBITAILLE

 

Véritable amoureuse de la danse et du mouvement, Frédérique Annie Robitaille fréquente plusieurs écoles de danse avant de poursuivre des études en danse, d'abord au Collège Montmorency de Laval, puis à l'Université du Québec à Montréal où elle obtient un baccalauréat en interprétation en danse contemporaine.

Cofondatrice de ZEUGMA DANSE, elle y cumule les fonctions de co-directrice artistique, chorégraphe et interprète depuis 2001 et a contribué de manière éloquente au développement de l’identité gestuelle de la compagnie, qui métisse la puissance de la gigue à la fluidité du mouvement contemporain. Elle a également participé au déploiement de tous les projets artistiques de la compagnie, en plus de diriger, à compter de 2005, le programme de formation des apprentis.

www.zeugmadanse.com

CLEEK

SCHREY

 

Originaire de Virginie, Cleek Schrey est un violoniste, improvisateur et compositeur vivant à New-York. Il collabore régulièrement avec des musiciens d'horizons différents tels le cambiste Liam Byrne, le pionnier de la musique électronique David Behrman et les icônes du violon traditionnel Caoimhín Ó Raghallaigh et Martin Hayes.

 

La revue Sound Post le décrit comme possédant « une rare combinaison de traits : un profond respect pour la musique traditionnelle et les per-sonnes qui la composent, et une curiosité sans bornes pour de nouvelles directions pour le son ».

 

On le retrouvait récemment au Big Ears Festival (TN), au Kilkenny Arts Festival (IR) et au Issue Project Room (NYC). Il poursuit actuellement des études doctorales en composition musicale à l'Université de Princeton.

www.newmusicusa.org

SANDY

SILVA

 

Sandy Silva est une chorégraphe et productrice primée et pionnière de la danse percussive de renommée internationale.

 

Elle s'inspire des pratiques de danses percussives globales infusant le thème du mouvement, de la voix, du théâtre et de la musicalité. Le résultat en est une forme unique et puissante de performance narrative.

 

Après 30 ans d’interprétation et d’enseignement dans le monde entier, Sandy a initié le projet Migration Dance Film Project (MDFP) avec la réalisatrice primée Marlene Millar.

 

Leurs films ont été projetés à l'international et ont remporté de nombreux prix. Le projet de film de danse sur la migration intégrera 8 courts métrages dans un long métrage qui sortira en 2021.

www.sandysilvadance.com

ANTOINE

TURMINE

 

Issu du milieu des danses traditionnelles et folkloriques, Antoine Turmine se définit comme un artiste en danse investit dans une démarche créative où le rythme, le son et le corps en mouvement sont à l’avant-plan.

 

Titulaire d’un baccalauréat en danse contemporaine de l’UQAM et d’une maîtrise en danse, il vise à faire de sa pratique un véritable laboratoire et cherche ainsi les dispositifs et les contextes qui transforment et repousse ses manières de danser.

antoine.turmine.ca

© 2020, ZEUGMA DANSE  |  www.zeugmadanse.com

Ce site est optimisé pour une lecture sur ordinateur.

  • Facebook